WHALEY Bridge closed the gap to champions Knutsford at the Division One summit after completing a league double over Greenalls on Saturday, writes Kat Davey.

Lee Morris put the top tier newcomers ahead, only for Lee Deakin to restore parity.

However George Burgess converted Bill Sutton’s cross to pinch the points for Whaley, who cut Reds’ advantage to seven points.

Crewe climbed to fourth place after recording a sixth successive win, this time at the expense of strugglers Grappenhall Sports.

They led 2-0 in little more than five minutes thanks to goals from PJ Hudson and Nathan Southern, who added to the lead before the half hour.

Mike Blundell’s double, plus second half strikes for Hudson and Craig Harris completed a 7-2 victory for the hosts.

Bragging rights belong to Middlewich Town in mid Cheshire after they thrashed neighbours Lostock Gralam at Seddon Street, Craig Millington and Sam O’Sullivan both scoring braces in a 6-1 win.

Elliott Goryl and Joe O’Sullivan were on target too as Adam Morris’ men climbed out of the standings’ relegation zone.

Runcorn Town reserves take over at the top in Division Two after coming from behind to win at Moore United.

James Daniels’ header put the hosts ahead, Ben McWilliams’ penalty restoring their lead before the break after the away team had levelled.

However defensive errors cost the Warrington outfit two goals as they lost 3-2.

Improving Tarporley edged a close encounter at Congleton Vale, where Alastair Taylor’s penalty separated the two teams, while Penlake lost at home to Maine Road’s second string.

Jamie Campbell put the hosts in front, but Jack Langford’s double sparked the visitors’ recovery as they won 4-1.

Elsewhere Sandbach United overturned a two-goals interval deficit to beat Malpas, while Golborne Sports scored six in a ten-goals thriller at newcomers Egerton.

Cheshire League
Saturday November 3
Division One

Crewe 7 Grappenhall Sports 2
Middlewich Town 6 Lostock Gralam 1
Whaley Bridge 2 Greenalls 1

Division Two
Congleton Vale 0 Tarporley Vicoria 1
Egerton 4 Golborne Sports 6
Moore United 2 Runcorn Town reserves 3
Penlake 1 Maine Road reserves 4
Sandbach United 3 Malpas 5