Nantwich Town suffer late setback against Skelmersdale United

Crewe Guardian: Dabbers frustrated by late leveller Dabbers frustrated by late leveller

Nantwich Town 2
Skelmersdale United 2

NANTWICH Town suffered a late setback on Saturday when Skelmersdale United bagged a 95th minute leveller.

Super-sub Jack Laird netted a free kick five minutes into added time after goals from Nantwich’s Ben Deegan and Adam Jones cancelled out Dean Astbury’s header.

The Dabbers started confidently after recent strong results, but United scored on 13 minutes when Shaun Tuck crossed to the back post for an unmarked Astbury to head home.

However, the hosts were level four minutes later when United keeper Ryan McMahon failed to find a teammate, allowing Steve Foster to collect the ball and square for Deegan to tap into an empty net.

The hosts then took the lead when Jones made the most of an Oliver Devenney free kick to loop a header past McMahon for 2-1.

Tuck caused Nantwich right back Alex Frost problems with his skill but Skelmersdale were unable to level before the break.

Dabbers threatened first after the interval when winger Osebi Abadaki went through on 53 minutes but pulled his shot wide.

Mark Jones fired wide for Nantwich on 61 minutes after a clever build up which again involved Deegan, before McMahon redeemed himself for his earlier howler with a fabulous save to deny the same player on 66 minutes.

Nantwich played out the remaining 25 minutes without too much of a threat from their table-topping visitors and appeared to be on course for all three points.

However, with an additional five minutes of added time announced, the hosts began to come under increasing pressure and when a free kick was conceded in the 95th minute Skelmersdale’s Laird stepped up and fired home to see the points evenly shared.

Dabbers endure a busy festive period, travelling to Grantham Town on Saturday, kick off 3pm, before welcoming Stafford Rangers on Boxing Day, kick off 3pm.

They then host Frickley Athletic on December 28, kick off 3pm, before visiting Witton Albion on New Year’s day.

Nantwich: Jack Cudworth, Alex Frost, Andy White, Mark Jones, Russell Courtney, Adam Jones (Earl Davis), Harry Clayton, Oliver Devenney, Ben Deegan, Steve Foster, Osebi Abadaki (Dereece Gardner).


Get Adobe Flash player
About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree