THE Crewe Open League Winter season ended with an astounding 34 trophy, promotion or relegation issues successfully resolved in the final week, with no playoffs necessary.

Last Orders Inn did not complete their Division 5 fixtures, so to comply with rules their record was expunged, fortunately not affecting teams too badly, other than having their points tallies adjusted.

The Premier Division Darts top two finale between Pioneers Club A and West End LMR B saw victories in the pairs games by Shaun Done and Daniel Ayres and Patrick Lynskey and Chris Gibson gain LMR B a 5-3 victory and the Champions tag, with the Pi’s having to settle for runners-up.

It must have been a tension charged event as there were no personal top darts performances noted.

Third and fourth placed Cosey Club and Band C also met, which would be good practice for the forthcoming summer season, with Cosey’s 5-3 win keeping them well clear.

Top darts performers were Robbie Arrowsmith (Band C) and Lee Moffat (Vine A) with 16 dart legs, Lee including a 180 in his.

Bobby Baynham (Cosey) hit a 17 darter and White Lion B duo Paul Goodwin and Ryan Proctor hit 18 dart legs, Ryan also on the mark with a 180. Jamie Yarwood (Commercial) bagged a brace of 20 darters, Dave Wood (Cosey) hit a 113 checkout and team mate Simon Preston a 180, with Pete Challinor (Nantwich Road A) going one better by bombing a brace of 180s.

Division 1 Darts top two Prince of Wales C and Earl of Chester met, the Earl’s 6-2 victory falling one point short of them taking the title, which went to the Prince with the Earl taking runners-up berth.

Dave Yates (Hop Pole A) included a 180 in his 15 dart leg, Mark Woolrich (Amalgamated A) hit a 16 darter and Tom Kelly (Duke A) and Earl pair Justin Vickers and Clive Lucking 18 darters, Clive’s including a 180. Paul Sheehan (Hop Pole A) hit a 19 darter, Paul Ralphs (ASLEF) a 116 checkout, Sean Morrey (Hop Pole A) a 180 and Graham Threadgold (ASLEF) a 171 high score.

Division 2 Darts leaders Sydney Arms walloped a depleted Bridge C 7-1 to claim the champions tag, also assisted by the clash of the other two in form teams Cheshire Cheese and Pioneers Club B which ended all square, with the Cheese finishing as runners-up and the Pi’s B third. Bottom team Nomads at last managed a win at the 18th attempt, 5-3 at Woodside.

Steve Mellor (Amalgamated B) hit a 17 dart leg, Rich Sharp (Nomads) a 20 darter and a 180 and Kev Thackwell (Pioneers B) a ton checkout.

The Pi’s regular hotshot brothers Darren and Dan Downey clinched the draw with a 36 dart pairs win, their third such performance in the last four matches.

Division 3 Darts Champions Oddfellows Club were already crowned, but they showed no let-up by walloping third placed hosts Rileys Club A 7-1 to end their runners-up aspirations.

Second-placed Brunel Arms A beat Captain Webb 5-3 to take those honours, staving off a late challenge by Kings Arms B, who were 6-2 winners at the Liberal Club.

Jordan Bradley (Brunel A) and Dave Probin (Oddies) hit 19-dart legs, Shaun Young (Liberal) a 20 darter and Karl Goodwin (Rileys A) a 99 finish to his 21 darter.

Paul Griffiths (Rileys A) and Paul Campbell (Kings B) hit respective 102 and 121 checkouts, the latter ending his on the bull to seal the 6-2 win.

Division 4 Darts toppers Swan and Chequers were held to a draw by Coach and Horses, but are champions as second-placed Raven were blasted 7-1 by visitors White Lion.

Raven still finished as runners-up after third-placed Cumberland C also drew with lowly Dishers Club.

Tom Heywood Jnr (Waldron) won with a 116 finish to an 18 darter and Dave Betteley (White Lion) with a 119 finish.

Division 5 Darts was rehashed to take into account the demise of Last Orders Inn, but the net result had no effect on placings as runaway champions Willaston Club ended the season with a 100 percent win record.

Second and third-placed Nags Head and Rileys Club B met to decide runners-up berth, filled by visitors Nag after they completely overwhelmed Rileys 7-1.

Jamie Clorley (Willaston) won in 18 darts, team mate Dan Potts with a 110 checkout and Phil Wade (Brunel B) hit a maximum 180.