Grandstand finish to the Crewe darts season

4:12pm Thursday 9th February 2012

THE Crewe Open Darts League is on course for another grandstand finish.

Premier Division’s top two is still to be decided, with pacemakers Pioneers A having their bye week.

Challengers West End LMR B are still two points behind after a 5-3 win at Vine A, but have played a match more.

Top arrows came from Hop Pole's Paul Sheehan with a 14-dart leg and a 180, while Rob Arrowsmith (Band C) won in 15 and 16 darts with teammate Terry Smith and Colin Wilkinson (LMR B) on the mark with 15 darters, Terry including a 180 in his.

Division One's table toppers Nantwich Road beat bottom team Foresters A 6-2 and will be champions if they can squeeze one more point from their two remaining matches.

The runners-up contest between the two Express teams and Cheshire Cheese is hotting up, with two points covering them all after Express B recovered from 4-1 down to draw at Lady A.

Cheese lost 5-3 to Broughton and Express A won 6-2 at Bridge C.

Mick Whitfield (Lady A) and Shaun Garrett (Express A) hit 20 darters, while Ben Fletcher (Express A) and Dan Smith (Broughton) threw respective 100 and 114 checkouts.

Division Two's leaders Rockwood slammed bottom placed hosts Crown 7-1, with Crown landlord Roy Stanley staving off the whitewash.

Three points from their last two matches will ensure Rockwood are crowned champions.

Main challengers Woodside beat Bridge A 5-3 and are nine points clear of Rileys A, who move a point ahead of Amalgamated B after beating them 6-2. Anthony Harper (Bridge A) and Steve Hughes (Woodside) hit 18-dart legs, with Adam Hall (Rileys A) and Mel Roberts (Nomads) adding 19 darters and Mick Shone (Woodside), Sam Williams (Hawk) and Dave Morris (Coppenhall Leighton) hitting respective 105, 113 and 118 checkouts.

Division Three's top three WLFL B, Horse Shoe and Duke of Bridgewater A are continuing to set a blistering pace, though one of them is heading for a big disappointment.

Pacemakers WLFL B beat bottom team Liberal A 6-2 and lead the Shoe and Duke A by one point after the Shoe hammered Dishers B 7-1 and Duke A hit their third consecutive whitewash, this week against Vine C.

Dave Coyne (Shoe) hit two 17 darters, Darren Downey (Pioneers B) one 17 darter, brother Dan Downey a 20 darter and Warren Hollands (Shoe) a 20 darter and a 180.

Division Four saw leaders Liberal B beat Delamere B 6-2 and they need just three more points to be champions.

Second-placed Captain Webb B hit seven against bottom team Nags Head, with the whitewash prevented by Jan Phillips.

Coppenhall Club also hit seven against Waldron B, but they are still seven points off the pace and have a make or break match at Webb B to come next week.

Rob Paine (Liberal B) won in 16 darts.

Division Five champions Delamere A romped to a 7-1 victory over Prince of Wales B, while Dishers A more or less clinched the runners-up berth with a 6-2 win over White Lion A.

Division Six leaders Swan and Chequers had their points lead halved to three after losing 6-2 at third-placed Rileys B.

Second-placed Flying Lady C won 5-3 at Foresters B and are three ahead of Rileys B, with both holding a match in hand on the leaders.


© Copyright 2001-2017 Newsquest Media Group

Crewe Guardian: site_logo

Click 2 Find Business Directory