Nantwich Town 2 AFC Fylde 2 (Fylde win 3-1 on penalties)

NANTWICH suffered penalty heartache on Tuesday as they lost an FA Trophy replay against AFC Fylde.

The Dabbers, who had held the Coasters on their own pitch in a stalemate at the weekend, twice came from behind to force extra time at the Weaver Stadium.

However they bowed out 3-1 on spot kicks after Christian Smith, Sean Cooke and Niall Maguire missed from 12 yards.

Earlier, a scorcher from Chris Flynn had cancelled out James Dean’s opener before Caspar Hughes levelled ten minutes from time after Adam Farrell thought he had won it for Fylde.

The visitors took the lead five minutes after the interval when Dean challenged for a cross with Brain and managed to force the ball over the line from close range..

Flynn grabbed the equaliser just on the hour mark, the ex-Crewe Alexandra man finding space 30 yards from goal before unleashing a beautiful strike into the bottom corner.

The Coasters regained the lead on 70 minutes as Nantwich struggled to clear their lines, Farrell heading Adam Sumner’s cross into the top corner.

The Dabbers showed great character though and, after sustained pressure on the Fylde goal, found the equaliser when Hughes placed Mat Bailey’s flick-on into the corner.

Kyle Wilson was the only man to convert a penalty for Nantwich.

Nantwich: Brain (GK), Flynn, Moss, Hughes (Maguire 102), Bailey, McDonald, Cooke, Smith, Lane (Campbell 105), Wilson, Short (Foster 102). Subs not used Brehaut, Corbett.